PCA Announces Gleason Award Winners

The Portland Cement Association (PCA) announced the winners of the 2018 John P. Gleason, Jr. Leadership Awards, honoring PCA members who have exhibited leadership in advancing industry programs and initiatives. Named after John “Jay” Gleason who served as PCA president from 1986 until his retirement in 2007, the awards are held as a distinguished honor by the cement industry.

“The Gleason Awards are a unique industry honor, and an excellent way to show appreciation for individuals who have raised the bar on leadership and commitment to have a positive impact on our industry and its future,” said PCA Chairman and CalPortland Co. President and CEO Allen Hamblen. 

“Jay Gleason had a tremendous ability to bring people and organizations together for a common purpose – which is the advancement of cement and concrete as the preferred building material in America,” said Tom Chizmadia, Gleason Award selection committee chairman and Lehigh Hanson Inc. senior vice president of government affairs and communications.

Presented at the PCA Summer Committee Meetings in Chicago, the awards recognize exemplary efforts by individuals in the following categories: business continuity, recognizing positive contributions to support business operations; market development, honors leadership in shaping a favorable competitive marketplace; and young leaders, recognizing those who demonstrate a high potential for success in leadership roles and a strong commitment to PCA and the cement industry. The following are the 2018 Gleason Award winners and finalists in each of these categories.

Business Continuity: Steve Minshall, corporate director safety and health, Ash Grove Cement Co.

Minshall has served on the PCA Occupational Health and Safety (OHS) Committee for two decades, where he has proven to be a strong safety leader in implementing many programs and initiatives to reduce workplace injuries. He has led efforts to better partner with regulatory agencies in pursuit of the common goal of safety.

Finalists: Brett Lindsay, environmental & energy manager, Salt River Materials Group, and Steve Wilcox, cement technical director, Argos USA.           

Market Development: Lori Tiefenthaler, senior director marketing, Lehigh Hanson Inc.

As chair of the American Concrete Pavement Association (ACPA) in 2017, Tiefenthaler successfully led efforts to better align the missions of allied cement and concrete associations, including an effort to launch PavementDesigner.org, which is a joint project between PCA, ACPA and National Ready Mixed Concrete Association. She has served on the executive board for the National Concrete Consortium, through which she has helped improve connections and outcomes for the cement and concrete industries with federal and state departments of transportation and academia.   

Finalists: Bill Asselstine, vice president sustainability, St. Marys Cement/VCNA, and David Gray, market manager, GCC of America.         

Young Leaders: Gina Lotito, vice president energy & environmental, GCC of America.

Lotito is an active member of the PCA Environment & Energy Committee, where she has been chair and vice chair of the Sustainable Manufacturing Subcommittee, and served on the Sustainable Development Committee. She has proven a leader in promoting the use of clean alternative fuels for cement production, and in federal advocacy efforts to lower regulatory barriers for using such fuels under the Non-Hazardous Secondary Materials Rule.

Finalists: Ed Griffith, vice president sales & marketing, U.S., St. Marys Cement/VCNA and Adam Posly, production manager, LafargeHolcim US.

Related posts